The 4 Stages of Learning

I learned this in my SPCOM223 class. This is actually very interesting. The idea is that learners are not aware of how little or much they know. When we learn something new, we go through these stages.

  1. Unconscious Incompetence
    1. You don’t know what you don’t know
  2. Conscious incompetence
    1. You are aware of the skills you lack. Ignorance is no longer bliss. Selling courses to this demographic should be easiest.
  3. Conscious competence
    1. When you have acquired a skill but has not yet mastered it to the point where it comes naturally
  4. Unconscious Competence
    1. Competence comes naturally, you don’t have to think about it
  5. (Fifth Stage) Conscious competence of unconscious competence
    1. Able to relate to learners in stages 1-4 enough to teach them. A stage five learner has reached a point where they can reflect on how they reached their level of mastery. This means that they can empathize with learners in other stages. In your organization, your super volunteers or SMEs are the most likely to be “fifth stagers.” They can be useful in mentoring new members or providing guidance.
    2. This is important to me for teaching others about how I got here.